I Tried Spinning and This is what Happened

Spinning, Soul Cycle, Cycling, whatever you call it, this form of high intensity exercise has swept the nation. Whether you do it by yourself or do it with friends, this workout is going to make you sweat from places you didn’t know had sweat glands.

I’ve been wanting to try it since I joined the gym, but I was always hesitant to do so. I didn’t want the regulars to look down on me or judge me for not knowing what to do. I also didn’t want to be in a room full of old ladies and be the only one not biking. I always told myself if a 60 year old women can do it, so can I!

It wasn’t until last week that my supervisor began talking to me about spin class. He would come by my cubicle and ask, “hey have you tried spin yet?” to which I would always respond, “nope! not yet, but maybe tomorrow.”

So finally, I woke up this morning, got ready for the gym, and was out the door at 8:45 am ready to attend my first class at 9:00 am sharp. To my surprise the instructor was a little bit older than I had expected, the class was primarily older men and women, and thankfully everyone was extremely welcoming.

I could already feel myself starting to sweat by just looking at the bike. First I had to adjust the seat, which I didn’t know how to do. Then I had to move the handle bars, which I also was clueless about. And finally after looking around at everyone else I thought, “why does everyone have towels? You can’t possibly sweat that much.” Well I was sorely mistaken.

The music started playing and the grandpa instructor began to peddle faster and faster. The music wasn’t from this decade and as a matter of fact, the only other thing from this decade in the room besides me, were the bikes. I’m pretty sure the first song was ‘Barracuda’ by Heart. We started sitting down, but ultimately ended up in a squat position while still peddling. Up and down, up and down, for the whole 3.5 minute song.

I thought for sure there would be a break after 3.5 minutes of non-stop riding. Wrong again. While the hour flew by, I felt like Spongebob and his need for water, I didn’t need a break, I didn’t need a break, but I so desperately needed a break. We rode straight fot the next 7 songs. spongebob.gif

9:50 am: I am sweating from my ears, eyebrows, and elbows. Who even thought sweat could come from your elbows! “Alright great class, let’s stretch it out.” Was this Jesus’ voice? Am I dead? Is it over? Salvation. My first spin class had finally come to an end. My legs were jello, my thighs burning, and my butt was sore from that concrete seats. I took one look at myself in the mirror and my heart skipped a beat. If you’ve ever seen Shrek, you know the moment when Fiona’s family sees her in ogre form. That was me. My hair was curled from my perspiration, face beet red, and I had really dark circles around my armpits (Pro Tip: don’t wear grey to spin class).

To describe my overall workout I wouldn’t use the word fun or refreshing. I can’t even say I felt good because who feels good when they are saturated with sweat. I can say however, that I felt like I used to feel after lacrosse practice. I felt like I had accomplished something and I felt like burned off the donuts I had for dessert last night.

Overall, spinning, cycling, or riding, whatever you call it, was an awesome work out. Will I be back? Yes, after the feeling in my legs comes back. Would I recommend it to people who hate running (like me)? 100% yes. 60 minutes of riding a bike may sound like a walk in the park, but soon after trying it, you’ll realize that the phrase “it’s like riding a bike” isn’t in terms of spinning.

One Comment Add yours

  1. This was hilarious! I’ve done a post on spinning too if you’d like a read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

