An Ode To: The Plain White T’s

The Plain White T’s are so much more than just that band that wrote “Hey there Delilah”. So we may never know what it was like in New York City, but what I do know is that this band was not a one hit wonder. Delilah (and rhythm of love, but that song sucked) was the only mainstream song of theirs, but that doesn’t mean there weren’t other works of art.

“Natural Disaster” is another fantastic hit off, of their album Big Bad World circa 2008. The lyrics are strange for sure, but the beat of the drum and Tom Higgenson’s magical vocal chords make me forget about the creepy and demeaning lyrics and just sing along. It’s hard to say this song is anything less than perfect.

Likewise, “1,2,3,4” from the same album, is as simple as it gets. The lyrics go, “there’s only 1 thing 2 do those 3 words 4 you, I love you.” It is the easiest song in history, but the T’s made is catchy and nauseatingly cute. Their music videos completes the whole mushy gushy feeling by featuring couples that have been together for a number of years all crowded around Higgenson playing the lovers anthem.

On the flip side of the lovey lullaby, we have “Hate (I really don’t like you)”. As you can sense by the lyrics, this is not a love song . No, “hate” is exactly what it sounds like. An angsty anthem about getting rejected by a girl. “Hate is a strong word, but I really really really don’t like you. Now that it’s over I don’t even know what I liked about you”. Case and point this song is fueled by a broken heart. The boys took their pop-punk nature to a whole new level with the heavily distorted guitar sound. Could you imagine if “1,2,3,4” and “hate” were on the same album? That would be one emotional rollercoaster.

The final, and my favorite song from The Plain White T’s is “our time now”.  A jam that puts a smile on my face no matter what. The lyrics of this song boast about it being our time and doing what we’ve always wanted to do. An epic theme song for anyone who feels that they need to turn their life around. “Finally it’s our time now”, is the chorus and man do I feel those lyrics run through me anytime I listen to this song. Empowering words that lift my spirits up and tell me to brush myself off because it’s my time to shine. While it’s really about lovers and their time to be in love (which doesn’t relate to me at all), I find that if you take out the lyrics about loving and blah blah blah, you’re left with inspiration.

The band will forever be associated with the piece of clothing known as a plain white tee, and therefore will always be a big part of my life (because I love plain white tees). The next time you pick up your favorite non-patterned, opposite of black, shirt, think about Tom Higgenson, the early 2000’s and Delilah. And in the meantime, if you see Delilah ask her how she’s doing.

Leave a Reply

