What To Do When Nothing Is Working

As most of you know, I have high cholesterol. I talk about it all the time, “I can’t have cheese, I can’t have ice cream, anything else that tastes good, I can’t have it.” So I started on my journey to a healthier me. Well this is what I have to report after the 2 month mark:

Nothing is working. My doctor called me today only to tell me that nothing has changed. My cholesterol is 248 (to be exact), it’s supposed to be 170. My triglycerides (I don’t even know what those do) are 182. What does all of this mean? It means that since May 5th, when I came home from school and decided to live a healthier life, nothing has changed. Absolutely nothing.

I go to the gym 3-4 times a week, and that may not seem like a lot, but it is better than sitting dormant like I did while I was at school. I do cardio, I spin, I lift weights, but I guess it’s not enough. Not only do I go to the gym, I eat healthy. Not like crazy healthy where I only eat lettuce and cucumbers, but I eat pretty damn well. No cheese, no cream, no white flour, no red meat, what else am I supposed to give up?

Where do I go from here? Giving up more of the food I love won’t help me. Going to the gym one more day won’t lower my cholesterol. I’m at a point where I’m asking myself why? Why am I limiting myself? Why don’t I just do whatever I want and see what happens? Well, I’m not going to do that because I’ll probably have a heart attack and die, but what’s the point? There are no results to show for all of the hard work I’ve poured into saving my own life.

I’m going nowhere. Truthfully it’s discouraging. I find it kind of funny and I find it kind of sad that you can put all of yourself into something and get absolutely nothing out of it.

I’m not going to stop exercising and eating well, I’m not a quitter. I just find it hard to continue, not impossible, just hard to work at something that all of sudden seems so unattainable.

Man, I could really go for a grilled cheese right now…

Do you know a good nutritionist? Someone who specializes in lowering cholesterol? That’d be pretty cool if you did. 

For all of those who can enjoy ice cream and cheese, have an extra scoop for me today, or stuffed crust from Domino’s. Live a cheesey life today instead of a lubey life.

Leave a Reply

