A Very Powerful Woman

It is rare to have a boss that you both fear and want to hang out with at the same time. It is rare to have a boss you both fear and want to hang out with who is a woman. Often times being a woman of power in the workplace is more of a curse than anything else. Women in powerful positions are never safe from criticism. There’s a double standard—you’re either too mean when being authoritative or too much of a pushover every other time. Your employees don’t respect you and your supervisors talk down to you. You’re made fun of, laughed at (rarely laughed with) and your attempts to be “one of the boys”
falls short every time. There is something to be said for a woman who has overcome it all, earned her title and is the most powerful woman in her company.

In this instance I am referring to my boss—a woman who embodies all of the above characteristics and may not even know it. I’ve seen the belittling of women in power happen on a number of different occasions. I’ve seen what happens when women ask the wrong questions or make the wrong comments in business meetings. It usually ends in hurt feelings or resentment. My boss, unlike others I’ve had, has what so many people lack; a thick skin and an unapologetic ferocity. She has the respect of her staff and other in the company, but more importantly she doesn’t buckle under the pressures of our dog-eat-dog male dominated fitness industry. It takes a powerful woman to sink her heels in, brace for impact and fight for what she believes in. A leader like this is hard to come by. Many have tried, but I feel only a number of people, both men and woman have succeeded at being a fearless, forceful and friendly superior.

I started this job part-time with no intention of staying more than a few months and never thought twice about what this company could offer me. My boss has handed me writing assignments, social media projects and has invited me to sit at the leadership meetings with her and four other high-ranking individuals. Throughout my time I’ve been told one thing over and over, “it is up to you how quickly you progress here”. In my year and a half, I’ve taken everything that’s been thrown at me—adjusting my writing style, developing videography skills and script writing. The only reason I’ve been able to learn so much is because she believes in me. While it always feels extraordinary to know I have the admiration of my boss, what excites me about working for her is that I finally have the chance to be ambitious. She allows me to take risks, explore different avenues and she makes it feel like I was put in this world to do this exact job. Women in corporate environments aren’t always good to one another, but I’ve been fortunate enough
to work alongside a woman who values my ideas and desire to grow instead of viewing everything I do as a threat. I was given the opportunity to shine through my writing and creativity and my ideas have been welcomed instead of thwarted. I possess a sense of bravery and confidence in the work I produce because I’ve been encouraged to always do more. I now know that it is possible to be a fearless, forceful and friendly female boss because I interact with one every day.

Now more than ever, it is important to have real life role models. By real life I mean first hand influencers. I look at Ruth Bader Ginsburg as a role model, but I will never work side-by-side with her. My boss knows the struggles I face coping with the thought of disappointing my parents and questioning my career path. She answers the questions I ask whether they be personal or professional—she is open and honest with me as if I were her own daughter. And she pushes me to grab not only what is in front of me, but she pushes me to reach for what’s next both at this company and in my career as a whole.

I’ve only had one other female role model in my life and that was during college. My professor helped me find my true passion. In this next stage of my life, my boss has become the role model and mentor who helped me turn my passion into a profession.
Having an influential female role model is a rarity. Having an influential female role model, you get work with every single day is a true treasure.
Here’s to you, Boss.

Leave a comment